Animatronics playback

Ask - Discuss - Share everything about your code in embedded for your projects. Processing, Embedded C, Fritzing...
sunilvallu

Animatronics playback

Postby sunilvallu » Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:56 pm

Hi,

I'm a designer working in the area of new media and interaction design. I'm currently working on a project which involves animatronics activated/deactivated by a sensor input (in this case sound within a proximity limit). The challenges that im currently facing could be separated into 2 sections for ease,
1. datalogging + Servo, 2. Sensor input (sound)

1. DATALOGGING + SERVO
The idea is to enact various movements wearing nunchuck or wii remote (preferable) over a head. In precise, simulating movements of a human neck. The data is captured using a program called 'coolTerm' in the form of a 'txt' file. Now there are various compositions of such movements stored in the form of txt files in an sd card. each txt file contains values of acceleration in both x and y. These files are called on a random function and combined to form a continuous unique motion. In the case of wii I have decimal values between 0 and 1 (example: 23:14:39.509377,0.333333,-0.370370,-1.021739). In the case of nunchuck to arduino by using a library called ArduinoNunchuck by GabrielBianconi gave me values integers between 250 and 700 instead of 0 and 1024. These vales are still usable to run servos when compared to wii values which are killing the servos. I would like to know if there is a way that I can run these servos from the acceleration data.

2. SENSOR